Homemade Pumpkin Puree

Pumpkin is so versatile. I have used it in soups, pies, breads, muffins, and even as a facial. The fiber content is another bonus. I do have a pie pumpkin that I did not get to carve with my daughter. I am now tempted to make some pumpkin puree to toss in my freezer for the holidays.

If Everyday Was Sunday

Pumpkin Pie Trilogy 1 of 3: Homemade Pumpkin Puree

PumpkinPuree

I confess.

{Deep breath in} I’ve never made a pumpkin pie before.

So, when Mr. Smith picked out a pumpkin from the patch and declared that we will “soon have pumpkin pie”, I was vexed on the inside. (Not to mention, he picked out a “carving” pumpkin, not a “pie” pumpkin. No problem. They’re both orange.)

{Singing} “This pumpkin was made for carving, but baking’s what I’ll do! Soon this pumpkin will be baking especially for you!” Thank you, thank you.

Never the one to turn down a challenge or lose an opportunity to make Mr. Smith happy, I FINALLY got the nerve to try my hand at pumpkin-pie-making… completely from scratch! HOWEVER… in order to make pumpkin pie… you, evidently, need “pumpkin puree”. (Not the kind from a can. We’re baking from scratch, remember?)

A Note to the Bakers: If you are one…

View original post 391 more words

Leave a Reply

